Canoe, Kayak and Paddle Board Courses

Paddlesport introductory and safety courses at Talkin Tarn in Cumbria

Talkin Tarn is the ideal venue for water sports courses, with easy access, high quality equipment and qualified instructors. Warm showers and changing rooms are on hand for you to use. Find a water sports course or workshop to suit you and book online below, using our calendar.

Talkin Adventures are a British Canoeing Delivery Partner and courses will be delivered by current, qualified, instructors and coaches.

If you are new to the sport, looking to try before you buy, or wanting to gain some tuition to safely use your new shiny toy, we have something for you! We can also arrange formal safety and rescue training and other paddle courses to help you improve.

All of our introductory and Safe SUPing courses are private for your small group and will be tailored to suit you. You will be welcome to bring your own equipment or to use ours at no extra cost.

  • Safe SUPing - This training workshop will cover the basics to give you confidence to enjoy the water on your new paddle board. We will take a practical approach as we focus on planning, safety, rescue, equipment choices and environmental factors that you might encounter.
  • British Canoeing Paddle Discover Awards - [Open Canoe, Sit on top Kayak, or Stand Up Paddle Board] An introductory, one-day course, covering everything you need to know to get onto the water. During this practical course we take a look at equipment selection, the paddling environment, effective technique and skills, and basic safety and rescue. This course is a brilliant starting point for any paddler. On successful completion of the course you will receive a British Canoeing Certification.
  • British Canoeing Foundation Safety & Rescue Training (FSRT) - Covering a range of safety and rescue skills, in a wide variety of craft, the FSRT provides a sound basis for the safety of any paddler. This course is for competent paddlers, looking to improve their understanding and personal skillset. It is a pre-requisite for coaching progression. Contact us to arrange a course for your group.

For taster and fun group and family sessions please see our full programme of events or get in touch for more options.

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • Wednesday, September 1
  • Thursday, September 2
  • Friday, September 3
  • Saturday, September 4
  • Sunday, September 5
  • Monday, September 6
  • Tuesday, September 7
  • Wednesday, September 8
  • Thursday, September 9
  • Friday, September 10
  • Saturday, September 11
  • Sunday, September 12
  • Monday, September 13
  • Tuesday, September 14
  • Wednesday, September 15
  • Thursday, September 16
  • Friday, September 17
  • Saturday, September 18
  • Sunday, September 19
  • Monday, September 20
  • Tuesday, September 21
  • Wednesday, September 22
  • Thursday, September 23
  • Friday, September 24
  • Saturday, September 25
  • Sunday, September 26
  • Monday, September 27
  • Tuesday, September 28
  • Wednesday, September 29
  • Thursday, September 30